Augusta & Noble – A Study In Immigration & Deeper Conversations

Last weekend the cellist and I had a mom and me outing (he’s going on thirteen next month, so I’m not sure that I can have him using mommy on the blog,) and we headed to Adventure Stage Chicago, located at 1012 N. Noble St,  to see Augusta & Noble. Being no stranger to ASC, I was prepared for a great production, but not one that would leave me thinking as much as this one did.

Gabi is a resident of a West Town neighborhood in the city of Chicago which happens to be full of Latino culture. She is worried about her first day of school at a high school across town by the name of Northside College Prep. Among her typical first day of school jitters, Gabi is also worried about her father, who has to take an unexpected trip, her mother who is working too hard, and her little brother who she used to have loads of time for, but given her new academic schedule, she finds that she’s even struggling in that area.

What I did not expect from this production was a story that hit so close to the Great Migration of my grandparents from southern states to the city of Chicago. A great mecca to so many. I also saw correlations to the Underground railroad as well, but I will stop there.

Just know that there happens to be a coyote, a rabbit, a great blue spirit and lots of fence straddling between dreams and reality; Northside Prep and the desert; school and home. Gabi must learn to trust those around her and speak up for what she believes in – which is kind of hard when you’re only fourteen.

The play is recommended for children 9 and older, and provides great conversation starters all around.

The schedule has been listed below for your convenience, and I suggest that if you are in the Chicagoland area you should really catch a showing! All weekend showings are offered in English/Spanish subtitles on a screen above the stage.

Previews: 10:30am
Thu, Apr. 11 | Fri, Apr. 12
Weekday Education Matinees: 10:30am (also open to general public)
Tue, Apr. 16 | Thu, Apr. 18 | Tue, Apr. 23 | Thu, Apr. 25 | Tue, Apr. 30 | Thu, May 2 | Tue, May 7 | Thu, May 9 | Tue,
May 14 | Thu, May 16
Weekend Evenings: 7:30pm
Fri, Apr. 19 | Fri, Apr. 26 | Sat, Apr. 27 | Fri, May 3 | Sat, May 4 | Fri, May 10 | Sat, May 11
Weekend Matinees: 4:00pm
Sat, Apr. 13 | Sat, Apr. 20 | Sat, Apr. 27 | Sat, May 4 | Sat, May 11

*I was provided media tickets for a special viewing. All reviews are my own. Photos by Johnny Knight. 


Our Houseful LOVES comments! It warms our hearts to know that you're touched by something enough to say hello! We'll respond back to you! Proomise!